BSP Early Career Group

About the BSP Early Career Group

The BSP Early Career Group (ECG) is a vibrant network of like-minded dentists and dental professionals at the early stages of their careers, all of whom share a passion for and interest in periodontology and implant dentistry.

As a member of the ECG, and with the guidance of the BSP, we hope to support and engage you to meet the challenges you are likely to face in the formative years of your career.

Education plays a key part in the ECG and we support Undergraduate and Postgraduate education and training in perio. We also have strong links with relevant professional groups and affiliated societies and organisations related to periodontology and implant dentistry.

We are keen to support the aims of the British Society of Periodontology and Implant Dentistry, who work tirelessly to promote the art and science of these areas of dentistry. Each year the ECG organise a short-course, details of which will be shown on the Events page of the website. We also hold a social meeting at the Annual Conference, which is a great opportunity to network and get to know the Committee and fellow members.

We welcome all BSP members (including students, non-specialists and those not yet on specialist training pathways).

ECG Masterclass Events

The Chair of the ECG organises an annual course, aimed at inspiring the younger generation of practitioners working within the field of periodontology and implant dentistry. The courses are designed to help them to develop their clinical and management skills.

Mucogingival Surgery Masterclass 2020

In January 2020, Dr Paul Baker and Dr Ian Dunn presented an extremely successful hands-on course in Manchester.

The Masterclass was also supported by two dedicated pre-course webinars, allowing the speakers to maximise the hands-on element on the day of the course. This offered the delegates an excellent educational experience for a very reasonable cost and the course quickly became oversubscribed. The course covered various mucogingival techniques including Free Gingival Grafts and root coverage procedures.

The event was a huge success with Dr Baker and Dr Dunn remarking on the fantastic group of delegates. They also extended their personal thanks to Dr Bobby Varghese and Dr Mitul Shah for their excellent assistance on the day during the surgical tasks.

muco 1
muco 2

Regenerative surgical techniques Masterclass 2019

In January 2019, Dr Richard Tucker and Dr Hassan Maghaireh presented a fantastic hands-on course in London.

This course was aimed at dentists with an interest in periodontics, restorative and periodontal specialty trainees, and qualified specialists.

Offering close-up tutoring on a range of periodontal regenerative surgical techniques, as well as use of a variety of regenerative materials. The course proved extremely popular and quickly sold-out. The delegates had the opportunity to practice key clinical treatment techniques for the treatment of infrabony and furcation defects in more advanced periodontal patients.

ECG Leadership Course 2017-18

The ECG Leadership Course was a structured comprising three full days and was designed to inspire the younger generation and help them to develop their leadership skills.

The first two days were led by Peter Lees, Chief Executive and Medical Director, UK Faculty of Medical Leadership and Management. The sessions reflected on what leadership meant and what makes good leaders. It was a gentle introduction to the concept of leadership and one that is key for members of the ECG going forward. Delegates noted the stand-out quote of the day was:

“Good leaders create followers. Great leaders create leaders.”

The final day of the course was presented by Executive Coach and NLP Master Practitioner, Dave Thornton. He provided the delegates with entertaining and thought-provoking sessions on building relationships, understanding different viewpoints, and working with various interaction models to positively influence communications with others.

This event was generously subsidised by BSP Council and kindly sponsored by Oral-B.

leadership 2017 18

ECG Committee

Mr Mitul Shah - BSP ECG Committee
Mitul Shah

ECG Chair

Dr Vipul Patel - BSP ECG Committee
Vipul Patel

Past Chair

Dr Devan Raindi - BSP ECG Committee
Devan Raindi


Dr Sinead Daly - BSP ECG Committee
Sinead Daly

Academic Representative

Miss Hiraa Jamil - BSP ECG Committee
Hiraa Jamil

Social Media Officer

Ms Maja Sabalic - BSP ECG Committee
Maja Sabalic

Mono-speciality Representative

Mr Oliver Jones - BSP ECG Committee
Oliver Jones

NHS Representative

Miss Anna Middleton - BSP ECG Committee
Anna Middleton

Hygiene/Therapy Representative